
	 Exemptions from Fur Buyer’s License: (1) a person 
who acquires not more than five furs, pelts, hides, or 
whole animals for his own personal use during one 
season and not for barter, exchange, or sale; (2) a person 
licensed as a fur processor ($200); (3) a taxidermist who 
possesses a fur, pelt, hide, or whole furbearing animal 
legally owned by another person which he is holding 
temporarily solely for the purposes of processing; (4) a 
person acquiring furbearing animal carcasses without 
hides; (5) an owner or enclosure operator of a permitted 
fox and coyote hunting enclosure who purchases live 
foxes or coyotes for release into the enclosure. 
(50-9-450, 50-11-2470, 50-11-2480)

Legal Traps
In South Carolina, a trap is broadly defined as: 

“any device, other than a weapon, designed 
or constructed for taking animals.”

The following traps are legal to use for trapping 
statewide:

•	 Foothold traps with an inside jaw spread of 
5 ¾” or smaller on land and 7 ¼” or smaller 
for water sets. Inside jaw spread is measured 
at the widest point perpendicular to the pivot 
points (jaw hinges) when the trap is in the set 
position (Figure 1).

•	 Enclosed foothold traps such as “Egg”, “Duffer”, 
“Coon-cuff”, and similarly designed dog-proof 
style traps designed for raccoons.

•	 Body gripping traps of the Conibear® type in water 
or slide sets only. No bait is allowed to be used 
with body-gripping traps. 

•	 Snares may be used in water sets only. 
•	 Live traps. Live traps may also be used to catch 

feral animals at any time without a license or 
permit from the Department. 

•	 Small snap, box and other commonly used traps to 
catch commensal rodents or snakes in homes and 
businesses may be used at any time by property 
owners, occupants, or their designees to catch 
snakes, rats and mice.

Unless otherwise specified in Title 50 of the SC 
Code, all other traps and trap uses, including 
deadfalls or other improvised traps, are 
unlawful, regardless of the intended species.

All traps must bear the owner’s name and address, 
or the owner’s SCDNR-issued Customer ID number 
either directly thereon or by an attached tag (Figure 2).
(50-11-2400, 50-11-2460)

Fur Harvest Statutes
	 This brochure contains a summary of the state 
statutes regarding trapping and the commercial harvest of 
furbearers. Applicable statutes are listed in parentheses at 
the end of each section of this brochure. Copies of actual 
statutes of the SC Code of Laws are available online from 
the South Carolina Legislature at www.scstatehouse.gov 
or by writing: Furbearer Program, SC Department of 
Natural Resources, P.O. Box 167, Columbia, SC 29202.
 
Legislative Changes for the 
2016-2017 Season
	 There were no legislative changes affecting 
trapping or furbearing animals.

Furbearers which may be 
commercially harvested
 	 The following species are legally classified as 
furbearers and may be taken by hunting or trapping 
during the open season: beaver, bobcat, coyote, 
gray fox, red fox, mink, muskrat, opossum, otter, 
raccoon, spotted skunk, striped skunk, and weasel. 
The pelts of these animals may be sold with a valid 
commercial fur harvest license.     (50-11-110, 50-
11-1080 50-11-2400)

License     ($25 resident, $200 nonresidents)
A Commercial Fur Harvest License is required for:

•• anyone who traps, or attempts to trap furbearing 
animals, whether commercially or recreationally, or
•• anyone that takes furbearing animals by any 

means, for sale, trade, exchange or barter, or
•• anyone who possesses more than 5 furbearing 

animals or raw or green pelts (this provision does not 
apply to a licensed fur buyer or fur processor).

All licensed commercial fur harvesters must 
also possess a valid South Carolina hunting 
license, regardless of age*. These licenses shall 
be carried while involved in fur taking activities. 
A youth (under 16) is not required to be licensed in 
order to assist a licensed fur harvester, so long as the 
youth is in the presence of the licensed fur harvester 
and the youth does not sell, trade, exchange, or barter 
any furbearing animals taken under the authority of 
the licensed fur harvester. 

*A youth under 16 years of age must purchase a 
hunting license in order to purchase a Commercial 
Fur Harvest License unless the youth has completed 
an approved Trapper Education Course.

	
	 Anyone who purchases any whole furbearing 
animal, raw or green furs, pelts or hides is required 
to have a Fur Buyer’s License ($100.00 for residents, 
$200 for nonresidents).

Night Hunting for Coyotes
	 A hunting license is required; however, there is 
no closed season for hunting coyotes on private land 
statewide during daylight hours, with or without bait. 
Coyotes may be hunted at night with an artificial light 
or nightvision devices using a rimfire rifle, bow and 
arrow (no crossbows), a shotgun with a shot size no 
larger than size BB, or a sidearm of any caliber that 
has iron sights, a barrel length not exceeding nine 
inches, and which is not equipped with a buttstock, 
scope, or laser sight. 
	 From the last day of February to July 1, if the 
landowner provides notification to DNR at least 48 
hours in advance, coyotes may be hunted at night 
with artificial lights and nightvision devices using 
any legal firearm, bow, or crossbow. Notice to the 
DNR is required once per season for each property 
and the names and license numbers of each person 
participating in the hunt must be listed. Hunters 
using centerfire rifles during this time must be at an 
elevated position at least 10 feet from the ground, 
unless the hunter is using and only possesses 
subsonic ammunition for the same rifle. Persons 
convicted of certain road hunting and night hunting 
violations during the previous five years are ineligible 
to hunt coyotes at night. (50-11-1080, 50-11-710)

Electronic Calls
	 It is illegal to hunt, catch, take, kill or attempt to 
hunt, catch, take or kill any game bird or game animal 
with the aid of electronic calls. Except for coyotes, all 
furbearing animals are also classified as small game 
and cannot be taken with electronic calls. However, 
it is legal to use electronic calls during the day or 
night for hunting coyotes on private lands and during 
the day on WMA lands where hunting for coyotes is 
allowed. (50-11-40)

Depredation Permits
	 Depredation permits may be issued at any time 
of the year by the SCDNR for the taking of furbearing 
animals that are destroying or damaging private or 
public property, wildlife habitat, game species, timber, 
crops, or other agriculture so as to be a nuisance, or 
for scientific, research, or for wildlife management 
purposes. There is no cost for this permit. Animals 
captured under a depredation permit may not be 
relocated, sold, traded, exchanged, or bartered.
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Figure 1. How to measure foothold trap size

Seasons (Trapping & Hunting)
Trapping: It is lawful to trap furbearing animals 
from December 1 of each year to March 1 of 
the following year with a valid Commercial Fur 
Harvester’s License. 
Hunting: Furbearer hunting seasons vary by game 
zone and are printed in the annual SCDNR Rules and 
Regulations brochure. Coyotes and beaver may be 
hunted during daylight hours year ‘round on private 
lands by licensed hunters.
Night Hunting: Raccoons, opossums, foxes, mink, 
and skunk may be hunted at night during the open 
hunting season for those species; however, they may 
not be hunted with artificial lights except when treed 
or cornered with dogs and no buckshot or any shot 
larger than #4, or any rifle ammunition larger than a 
twenty-two rimfire may be used. Devices that amplify 
light using any type of power source are considered 
artificial light (including night vision or thermal 
imaging equipment).
(50-11-120, 50-11-710, 50-11-1080, 50-11-2540)

Figure 2. Examples of trap identification tags



Importation of Wildlife
	 It is unlawful to bring, import, or cause to have 
imported a live coyote or fox into the state. It is also 
unlawful to release a coyote or fox into the state, 
except as authorized.
	 It is unlawful to import any other furbearers 
into this state without a permit first being issued by 
the SCDNR.  However, any requests for permits to 
import furbearing animals as pets will routinely be 
denied. (50-11-1765, 50-11-2605, 50-11-2640, 
50-16-20)

Possession and/or Sale of Live 
Foxes or Coyotes
	 Live foxes or coyotes may only be sold or 
transferred to the listed owner or operator of a 
permitted fox and coyote hunting enclosure by the 
licensed trapper who took the animal.
	 A licensed trapper may only possess a live 
fox or coyote during the commercial fur harvest 
trapping season (Dec. 1- Mar.1) and for 30 days 
after (Mar. 2-April 1).  After this time, it is unlawful 
for anyone, except a currently permitted fox and 
coyote enclosure, to possess a live fox or coyote 
without a permit issued by the SCDNR. 
(50-11-2605, 50-11-2630)

 
To obtain an application for a Commercial 
Fur Harvest License, contact the SCDNR 

licensing office at: 803-734-3833

	 Law Enforcement Offices  
	   Charleston		  (843) 953-9307 
	   Clemson		  (864) 654-8266 
	   Columbia		  (803) 734-4002 
	   Florence		  (843) 661-4766

	 Wildlife Section Offices  
	   Charleston		  (843) 953-5291 
	   Clemson		  (864) 654-1671 
	   Columbia		  (803) 734-3886 
	   Florence		  (843) 661-4766

SC Department of Natural Resources 
Wildlife & Freshwater Fisheries Division

Wildlife Section  
Furbearer Project

 
 
 
 
 
 

www.dnr.sc.gov
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	 A commercial fur licensee must apply to SCDNR 
before CITES tags can be issued. There is no fee for 
each individual tag, but the SCDNR must charge a 
processing fee of $3.00 for each order. No more than 
10 tags may be ordered at any one time. Bobcat and 
Otter tags may only be ordered from Nov. 1st - April 
30th.
	 The tags must be securely attached and may not 
be removed until the time of processing. CITES tags 
are nontransferable and may not be altered in any 
manner. The SCDNR may limit the number of tags 
issued for each species and the area in which they 
may be used. Furbearing animals to be sold as live 
animals are not required to be tagged. (50-11-2510)
 
Fur Harvest Reporting 
Requirement
 	 All commercial fur harvest licensees shall submit 
an annual report of their harvest to the SCDNR by 
April 15th of each year, using forms provided by 
the SCDNR. In addition, a trapper shall maintain 
an accurate daily record of all live fox and coyote 
sales or transfers on forms provided by the SCDNR. 
These live fox and coyote transaction forms must 
be retained by the trapper and made available for 
reasonable inquiry by SCDNR employees.
	 Any trapper who sells or transfers live foxes 
or coyotes to permitted fox and coyote hunting 
enclosures must submit all daily records of these 
transactions by April 15th of each year on the forms 
provided by the SCDNR.  
	 Failure to report by date due, upon 2nd offense, 
shall render the violator ineligible for a commercial 
fur harvest license the following year, in addition to 
fines for each offense. (50-11-2450, 50-11-2620, 
50-11-2630, 50-11-2650)
 
Fur Buyers Reporting 
Requirement
	 Fur buyers shall keep a daily register of furs 
purchased on forms provided by the SCDNR. No 
later than the 10th day of each month the fur buyer 
shall furnish the SCDNR all daily register sheets from 
the previous month.
	 Failure to report will result in the loss of buying 
privileges for one year in addition to the prescribed 
penalties. (50-11-2490, 50-11-2560).

The South Carolina Department of Natural Resources prohibits 
discrimination on the basis of race, color, gender, national 
origin, disability, religion or age. Direct all inquiries to the Office 
of Human Resources, PO BOX 167, Columbia, SC 29202.
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	 A depredation permit or license is not required 
by the property owner, or his or her designee, when 
capturing furbearing animals or squirrels within 
one-hundred yards of the owner’s home when the 
animals are causing damage to the owner’s property. 
Animals captured under this exemption may not be 
relocated and must be released on site or destroyed. 
(50-11-2570)

Trapper’s Responsibility
	 A person may trap on lands that he owns, or on 
lands owned by others, provided the trapper has 
written permission from the landowner. The written 
permission must be in the trapper’s possession at all 
times while engaged in trapping activities.
 	 There is no trapping allowed on any Wildlife 
Management Area or Heritage Preserve lands.
	 All traps must be checked at least once daily from 
two hours before official sunrise to two hours after 
official sunset. Body gripping traps used in water 
sets and other traps used in submersion sets must 
be checked once every 48 hours. No one, except the 
owner of the trap, may remove any legally trapped 
animal from the trap; however, a licensed trapper 
may tend another’s traps with written permission of 
the trap’s owner or agent.	
	 Though no longer required, any person 
shipping or transporting raw furs, pelts, hides or 
whole animals out of South Carolina can obtain a 
shipping certificate from the SCDNR if the receiving 
state or entity requires one, and/or the fur harvest 
licensee requests this certificate. A conservation 
officer must be notified at least 48 hours prior to 
the need of a shipping certificate in order to inspect 
the package and issue the certificate. A list of 
SCDNR Law Enforcement offices can be found on 
the back of this brochure. 
(50-11-2430, 50-11-2440, 50-11-2445, 
50-11-2500) 
 
Special Tagging Requirement for 
Bobcat and Otter
 	 Any person required to have a commercial fur 
license who takes any bobcat or otter must tag the 
fur, pelt, hide, or whole animal before it is sold, 
shipped, transferred to any person or business, 
or transported out of the state, if required by the 
Federal Government in order to comply with the 
Convention on International Trade in Endangered 
Species (CITES).

           Muskrat  (Ondatra zibethicus)


